MakuluLinux

Now Offering XFCE, KDE, E17 & MATE

Forums

Post Reply
Forum Home > General Discussion > No 64-bit version?

Orca
Member
Posts: 4

Why not?


November 4, 2013 at 8:15 AM Flag Quote & Reply

raymerjacque
Site Owner
Posts: 296

because we have both steam and wine on the distro and they arent 100% compatible with 64bit. 

Secondly, why do you need 64bit when you can make use of 32bit PAE kernel ? 

--

The new Makululinux Xfce has its moods, but once you tame her she will treat you nice...

Please Take a minute and take part in the MakuluLinux Survey by clicking here.

November 4, 2013 at 10:41 AM Flag Quote & Reply

Orca
Member
Posts: 4

Hm, hm hm ... wtf is a PAE thingy?

November 4, 2013 at 2:58 PM Flag Quote & Reply

c00ter
Moderator
Posts: 208

32-bit PAE extensions allow 64-bit machines to use memory above 4 GB. Per Wikipedia:

Physical Address Extension (PAE) is a feature to allow 32-bit x86 central processing units (CPUs) to access a physical address space (including random access memory and memory mapped devices) larger than 4 gigabytes...Enabling PAE (by setting bit 5, PAE, of the system register CR4) causes major changes to this scheme. By default, the size of each page remains as 4 KB. Each entry in the page table and page directory becomes 64 bit long (8 bytes), instead of 32 bits, to allow for additional address bits.

November 4, 2013 at 3:39 PM Flag Quote & Reply

Orca
Member
Posts: 4

WOW, very technical. Question is can I use 64-bit programs or do I have to use the 32-bit versions?


November 4, 2013 at 10:29 PM Flag Quote & Reply

raymerjacque
Site Owner
Posts: 296

32bit versions.

in a nutshell, the PAE removes the 4GB ram limit from 32bit, so it makes 32bit see all your ram ... And makulu already has PAE kernel activated.

--

The new Makululinux Xfce has its moods, but once you tame her she will treat you nice...

Please Take a minute and take part in the MakuluLinux Survey by clicking here.

November 4, 2013 at 11:15 PM Flag Quote & Reply

c00ter
Moderator
Posts: 208

You can't run 64-bit programs in a 32-bit environment. However, you can run 32-bit apps in a 64-bit operating system (assuming you have multiarch support enabled). But who needs the additional overhead 64-bit apps and 64-bit OSs impose?

regards,

-c00ter

November 5, 2013 at 2:13 AM Flag Quote & Reply

You must login to post.

Subscribe To Our Site

Facebook

Twitter Follow Button

Recent Forum Posts

by Kage 33 minutes ago
by mojo 42 minutes ago
by mojo 104 minutes ago
by raymerjacque 7 hours ago

Donate!

  • Donations Raised: $193.91 14 donations